Skip to main content
fontbonne logo

Fashion Merchandising: Additional Resources

Use this guide for locating journals, books, and reference materials related to Fashion Merchandising at Fontbonne University

Featured Resource: AVON

Fashion Blogs

In the News

Loading

Fashion Websites

Agewave, Inc.

Age Wave is the nation's foremost thought-leader on population aging and its profound business, social, and cultural implications. Founded more than 20 years ago by psychologist, gerontologist, acclaimed public speaker, and best-selling author Ken Dychtwald, PhD, and his wife, nationally recognized author and speaker Maddy Dychtwald, Age Wave has provided breakthrough research, compelling presentations, award-winning communications, and results-driven marketing and consulting initiatives to over half the Fortune 500.

Apparel Magazine

Apparel Magazine is the business/technology resource for executives working at apparel manufacturers and retailers. There is a hard copy in the Fontbonne Library.

Bill Cunningham

The legendary Times fashion photographer Bill Cunningham spots and distills the latest trends from the runways of Paris to the colorful streets of New York. Cunningham photographs people and the passing scene in the streets of Manhattan every day, focusing on their genuine usage of clothing to express personal style. He is known not to overly photograph celebrities (like a paparazzo would) or people that use fame to showcase clothing they didn't originally pick themselves (sponsored, free clothing). Most of his pictures, he has said, are never published.

Brain Reserve

A strategic trend based marketing consulting company started by Faith Popcorn, futurist and author of several books including The Popcorn Report, Clicking: 17 Trends to Future Fit Your Life, Your Work, Your Business, Dictionary of the Future: The Words, Terms and Trends that Define the Way We'll Live, Work and Talk , and EVEolution: The eight truths of marketing to women. 

Business of Fashion

The Business of Fashion has gained a global following as an essential daily resource for fashion creatives, executives and entrepreneurs in over 200 countries. It is frequently described as “indispensable,” “required reading” and “an addiction.”  Founded in 2007 by Imran Amed, fashion business advisor, writer and digital entrepreneur, The Business of Fashion began as a project of passion, aiming to fill the void for an informed, analytical and opinionated point of view on the fashion business. Today, the website has grown to leverage a network of savvy writers and fashion insiders in style capitals around the world, delivering fashion business intelligence on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands that are making their mark on the industry at a time of unprecedented change.  This is a free newsletter/web site from the UK. An excellent one to have come to your email address.

Business Insider

Business Insider is a U.S. business and technology news website launched in February 2009 and based in New York City.  The site provides and analyzes business news and acts as an aggregator of top news stories from around the web. Its original works are sometimes cited by other, larger, publications such as New York Times and domestic news outlets. The online newsroom currently employs a staff of 50.  

California Apparel News

The "voice of the industry" since 1945, California Apparel News provides weekly in-depth coverage of the California apparel industry, the world's most comprehensive fashion-sourcing destination. A subscription to California Apparel News also includes special sections on trade shows, technology, sourcing, textiles, lingerie, real estate, finance, education, findings & trimmings, tags & labels, fusings & bondings, and more.

Color Marketing Group

Color Marketing Group, founded in 1962, is a not-for-profit, international Association whose members, located in more than 20 countries, forecast Color Directions® 19 months or more in advance for all manufactured products and services. CMG members are Color Designers involved in the use of color as it applies to the profitable marketing of goods and services. CMG provides a forum for the exchange of non-competitive information on all phases of color marketing: color trends and combinations; design influences; merchandising and sales; and education and industry contacts.

Color Portfolio, Inc.

This is a Dallas, Texas based color and trend forecasting company, with office representation in New York, Los Angeles, Montreal and Toronto. Color Portfolio provides customers with consistent, accurate color and trend information, based on, in depth research, data from current market places, and traveling around the world. Color Portfolio produces five color books, twice a year, and is present at major trade shows in the industry, providing color and trend information to major retailers and manufacturers. Note: This is a good site to look at but fees are required.

Consumereyes.com

This is a New York-based agency with a global reach. Their experience has taught us that truly actionable ideas emerge only at the intersection of consumer desires, company vision and marketplace realities.  Their extended network stretches around the world.  They also have a blog.

Cool Hunting

Created by Josh Rubin in 2003, it is a consulting business based on design strategy, trend analysis, and mobile marketing for clients.

Cotton Incorporated

Cotton Incorporated aims to increase the demand for and profitability of cotton through research and promotion and to ensure that cotton remains the first choice among consumers in apparel and home products. The organization is funded by cotton growers in the United States.

Doneger Group

The Doneger Group is a fashion merchandising and consulting group; for nearly six decades it has provided apparel retailers with merchandising information, including specific analysis of the womenswear, menswear, and children swear market segments. Services include identification of trends at the wholesale and retail levels, as well as emerging fashion trends, and sourcing consulting services. The company also manages an online marketplace bringing retailers and manufacturers together. The Doneger Group conducts its merchandising services through a number of subsidiaries including HDA International, Carol Hoffman, Directives West, and Tobe the fashion and retail consulting firm it acquired in 2005.

Ecouterre

A website devoted to the future of sustainable fashion design. We’re dedicated to showcasing and supporting designers who not only contemplate cut, form, and drape, but also a garment’s social and environmental impact, from the cultivation of its fibers to its use and disposal. Our ethos: To follow the evolution of the apparel industry toward a more environmentally sound future, as well as facilitate a conversation about why sustainable fashion matters.

Evolution Shift and Future Wow

David Houle & Associates provides strategic consulting at the highest level to clients.  Companies have me speak to them about the future and global trends. I often lead a series of discussions as to how the company can best take advantage of these future trends and underlying forces that are reshaping their markets and the world.  As a media executive, entrepreneur and futurist, David has  been involved in the launch and development of brands   Sign up and read his newsletter FREE called Evolution Shift and Future Wow.

Fashion Center NYC

The Fashion Center Business Improvement District, a not-for-profit corporation, was established in 1993 to promote New York City's apparel industry and to improve the quality of life and economic vitality of Manhattan's garment district. Through programs in the areas of streetscape improvements, sanitation and security services, marketing and promotions, economic development, and community service, efforts are aimed at promoting the district as a strategic midtown business location and ensuring New York's position as the fashion capital of the world. Funded by the district's 450 property owners and over 5,000 businesses, the Fashion Center draws upon the talents of business, civic and government leaders to make the neighborhood clean and safe while strengthening local businesses. The Fashion Center BID provides a number of vital services in the district. Go to Industry links for great information.

FashionMag.com USA

A magazine of news, jobs, fashion, apparel, etc.  Check this one out!

Fashion Snoops

Fashion Snoops is an online forecasting service and consulting company that empowers leading companies around the world by providing them with inspiring content, irrefutable research and strategic guidance. This is subscription based.  They have a blog, Facebook and Tumblr page. Be a follower on Tumblr.

Fashion Trendsetter
Fashion Trendsetter is an online fashion and color trend forecasting, trend reporting and news e-zine plus up- to-date fashion information from the major forecasting services. It has been online for over four years. Most of the information is FREE.

Iconoculture Inc.

Iconoculture is the leading consumer expert, helping marketing decision makers in corporations and agencies enable growth and innovation. They have been charting the course of consumer culture since 1992, blending consumer-facing research with client-focused Advisory Services, helping clients align their businesses with the needs, wants, desires and passions that drive lifestyle and lifestage buying behaviors. Each day for the Icono team begins and ends with the consumer. Tap into our vast, vital wellspring of ideas, insights and innovation. Sign up for the FREE weekly newsletter.    Go to their blog by clicking here.  

ICSC Smartbrief

ICSC (International Council of Shopping Centers) SmartBrief reports breaking news for the retail real estate industry. It is published by Email every Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Click here to subscribe to ICSC SmartBrief.  Students should sign up for the free newsletter.

Kjaer Global - Anne Liser Kjaer

Anne Lise Kjaer is a London-based futurist and keynote speaker. Also known as a Future Narrator, her specialty is futures studies and consumer mindsets. Kjaer Global  is a team of Trend Management experts. Since 1988 they have supported our international clients in developing future-focused business strategies and fostering innovation culture using our 4P model: People, Planet, Purpose and Profit.

Kantar Retail

Kantar Retail is a globally focused management consulting, market research, and executive development firm specializing in retail intelligence and strategies. The company is owned and operated by the employee team responsible for the development and delivery of its global, syndicated Intelligence Program focused on retailing and consumer products distribution. Retail Forward is headquartered in Columbus, Ohio and has offices in London, Dallas, Los Angeles and San FranciscoFree Information.

National Retail Federation

The National Retail Federation is the world's largest retail trade association, with membership that comprises all retail formats and channels of distribution including department, specialty, discount, catalog, Internet, independent stores, chain restaurants, drug stores and grocery stores as well as the industry's key trading partners of retail goods and services. NRF's mission is to advance and protect the interests of the retail industry and to help retailers achieve excellence in all areas of their business.

National Retail Federation Smartbrief

The NRF launched SmartBrief with the idea of keeping busy professionals informed while saving them valuable time -- all in partnership with leading trade associations and professional societies. Today, SmartBrief reaches more than 850,000 subscribers with 55 customized e-mail news services.  Clients include prominent associations, corporations and nonprofits. Each SmartBrief offers original summaries of must-read industry news, handpicked from hundreds of sources, as well as important announcements and promotions from its partners. This is a free resource so use it daily.

Nellyrodi

Since 1985 the goal of the NellyRodi trend forecasting agency has been to inspire brands with a forward reaching vision of society and the market. They collaborate with our clients to create and establish marketing strategies with unique creative signatures. They share their passion for predicting and understanding the future in personalized consulting missions, forecasting publications and seasonal trend books.  He has a blog as well: http://www.nellyrodilab.com/en/category/blog-en

New York Times

The New York Times national newspaper will be a valuable source for news information such as economics, politics, technology, science, lifestyles and fashion. This is a free source so use it daily. Students will need to sign up for it. The fashion and style sections are very useful.

NPD Group

The NPD Group, founded in 1967, is the leading global provider of consumer and retail market research information for a wide range of industries. They provide critical consumer behavior and point-of-sale (POS) information and industry expertise across more industries than any other market research company. Through their consumer panel, retail sales tracking services, special reports, and custom research, they help our clients understand and profit from consumer and retail trends. Their data tells them who is buying, what, where, and why in local, national, and international markets.

Pantone 

Pantone, Inc, a wholly owned subsidiary of X-Rite, Incorporated, is the world-renowned authority on color and provider of color systems and leading technology for the selection and accurate communication of color across a variety of industries. The PANTONE® Name is known worldwide as the standard language for color communication from designer to manufacturer to retailer to customer.

Premiere Vision
One of the most influential fabric trade shows, Premiere Vision (First Look) is held in Paris and New York. It is in several languages.

PricewaterhouseCoppers (PwC)

PricewaterhouseCoopers is a multinational professional service firm headquartered in London. It is the world's second-largest professional services firms measured by 2013 revenues, and is one of the big four auditors along with Deloitte, Ernst and Young, etc.

Promostyl

Promostyle is a global trend forecasting agency with headquarters in Paris and a network of agents worldwide. Centering on lifestyle trends, Promostyl gives adaptations for all markets with color and silhouette direction with a balance of creativity and commercial viability. Around for almost 40 years, Promostyl works with major companies in all fields: Apparel, Beauty, Automotive, Consumer Products and more.

PSFK 

PFSK is a New York City based trends research and innovation company that publishes a daily news site, provides trends research and innovation consultancy, manages a network of freelance experts and hosts idea-generating events. We aim to inspire our readers, our clients and our guests to make things better – whether that’s better products, better services, better lives or a better world. PSFK began as a personal project of London-born New York-based Piers Fawkes in 2004 where he collected emerging ideas from around the world on a blog. His first collaborator was Simon King and Piers used their initials to name the site. Over time the site became popular as more content was published on a wide array of subjects by contributors from around the world.

Retail Wire 

RetailWire is the retailing industry's premier online discussion forum, which launched in February 2002. RetailWire goes beyond conventional headline news reporting. Each business morning, RetailWire editors pick news topics worthy of commentary by its "BrainTrust" panel of industry experts, and the general RetailWire membership. The results are virtual round tables of industry opinion and advice covering key dynamics and issues affecting the retailing industry.

Springwise Newsletter
Springwise and its network of 8,000 spotters scan the globe for smart new business ideas, delivering instant inspiration to entrepreneurial minds. Students are required to sign up for the newsletter.

Stores Magazine
Students can obtain some information online but not all articles in each issue. Stores Magazine can be found at Fontbonne Library.
STORES Magazine reports on the broad spectrum of strategic issues facing senior retail executives, including Retail Technology, Supply Chain and Logistics, Credit and Payment Systems, Loss Prevention, Human Resources, Online Retailing, Communications, Marketing, Merchandising, and Other Vital Store Operations. As the official publication of the National Retail Federation, STORES Magazine has a unique perspective on the marketplace. It offers an insider's view of the entire retail industry by featuring the latest trends, hottest ideas, current technology and consumer attitudes. In addition to its regular coverage throughout the year, STORES Magazine produces eagerly-awaited industry surveys and buying guides. Subscriptions are offered FREE to retailers and to members of the National Retail Federation.

The Intelligence Group

The Intelligence Group is a trend-forecasting and marketing Consultancy focused on Gen X, Gen Y and Tweens. For more information on our services, or to subscribe to our syndicated studies, The Cassandra Report, Tween Intelligence, Latino Intelligence, and Mom Intelligence go to the web site.

Trend Bible

Trend Bible is a home and interiors from the UK dedicated trend agency, working with inquisitive, recognised brands to predict change. Whether it's social, cultural or taste-driven, our job is to find out which future trends will impact your business and help you capitalize on them.  Our clients demand guaranteed competitive advantage from the trend analysis and interpretation we provide, so naturally we are very much results driven. Our clients tell us the impact of working with us can be evidenced in increased profits, market share, press coverage and footfall.

Trend Central
Trend Central is a newsletter (free) from The Intelligence Group. All students are expected to log on and subscribe to the newsletter.

Trend Tablet

Trend Tablet is a social media platform founded by Lidewij Edelkoort and edited by Cécile Poignant. It is a tool that explains how trends grow, evolve and flow; helping people to better perceive and understand how they interact with  daily life.

Trend Stop

The online trend book for fashion professionals; updated daily; connects professionals to key market trends. CEO Jaana Jatyri states, "We keep it real by delivering what's 100% hot and happening with honesty, integrity, attitude and style." This a service by subscription and expensive. Check out the prices.

Trend Watching

Trendwatching.com is an independent and opinionated consumer trends firm, relying on a global network of 8,000 spotters working hard to deliver inspiration and pangs of anxiety to business professionals in 120+ countries worldwide. For more info, check out their latest and free Trend Briefing. Students must sign up for free information.

The Wall Street Journal and WSJ Fashion News

The Journal is the largest newspaper in the USA by circulation. 's 1.8 million. Its main rival, in the business newspaper sector, is the London-based financial times which also publishes several international editions.  This paper is fee based but the hard copy is available at the Fontbonne library. ​

The Wall Street Journal Magazine

The special section of the paper features and profiles of tastemakers in the worlds of fashion, business, design and culture, travel destinations and food trends.

We Connect Fashion

This search engine for the apparel industry connects fashion brands, retailers, and service providers with each other and with marketplace intelligence since 1998. It assists fashion companies to succeed with business networking, market research & fashion industry know-how.  This is where retailers, manufacturers, wholesalers, and service providers interact with a network of over 350,000+ fashion companies. They make it easy to source, connect, compare, research and assess industry-wide business opportunities.  Free information.  Additional information for a subscription.

WGSN Group (formerly Worth Global Style Network)

WGSN is a global fashion site from the United Kingdom available to and used by professionals in the fashion industry.  Companies who use this service must pay large fees.  Universities are now also able to use the same information that large institutions in the textile and fashion industries use.  Fontbonne University pays a licensing fee so that fashion merchandising students may access this site for FREE. Follow directions in the syllabus for FAS 307

Women's Wear Daily

The bible of the fashion industry. 

Smarter Searching

Search for scholarly information with links to Fontbonne Library resources. If you can't access full-text, visit the Library website and request the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and we'll e-mail it to you when it arrives.

Use Google's Advanced Image Search to find relevant photos and other images.

#fashion

Online Resources

In the News

Local News Publications:

Most of these titles are available online through ProQuest. Many of the most recent issues can be found in the Reading Room in the Library.


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.