Skip to main content

fontbonne logo

Early Childhood: Piaget

This Research Guide features research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources on early childhood education compiled by your friendly Fontbonne librarians.


Piaget's Cognitive Stages

View this page for descriptions of Piagets' four Cognitive Stages

1. Sensorimotor

2. Preoperational

3. Concrete

4. Formal Operations



Practical Components of Piaget 

View this page to read more about Piaget's theory of Constructivism.  


Sensorimotor Stage


A-B Error

Biography: Jean Piaget

(born August 9, 1896, Neuchâtel, Switzerland—died September 16, 1980, Geneva), Swiss psychologist who was the first to make a systematic study of the acquisition of understanding in children. He is thought by many to have been the major figure in 20th-century developmental psychology.

Jean Piaget. (2011). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved from

Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
t: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator