Skip to main content
fontbonne logo

Early Childhood: Find Articles

This Research Guide features research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources on early childhood education compiled by your friendly Fontbonne librarians.

Welcome!

Use the Library's Discovery Search to find books, articles, images, and statistics – All at one time!  You can use the 'Advanced Search' tool to limit your results. 


Keyword Title Author

Basic Search | Advanced Search

Print Journals @ the Library

In the Jack C. Taylor Library, print copies of journals are treated two ways:

  • Our most recent issues (usually the current year) are kept in alphabetical order in the reading area on the first floor of the library (across from the Circulation Desk). Scholarly journals are on the low shelves and popular managinzes are on the side wall.
  • Older issues are bound in hard cover and filed on the shelves in alphabetical order (labeled by year) on the east side of the second floor of the library.

The Library receives many physical magazines and journals, some of which are NOT available through the online databases. Do a "Journal Title" search in the Library's Catalog or check in the white binder (Fontbonne Current Periodicals) on top of the shelves in the reading room to see if a journal is available in print.

Database Search Tip

Take Note!

exclamation point


All databases are not created equal, and sometimes your search strategies can make a big difference. Use the 'Help' files at the top of the screen or ask a Librarian to maximize your results

Best Bets: Early Childhood

Subscription resources are available to Fontbonne students, faculty, & staff. Guests are welcome to visit us the Jack C. Taylor Library. For a complete list of databases, see the Digital Resources Alphabetical List.

JOURNALS: Early Childhood

Additional Early Childhood journal articles are available online in databases such as Academic Search Premier, Communication & Mass Media, Education Research Complete, Mental measurements Yearbooks with Tests in Print, PsycINFO and ERIC at Fontbonne's Jack C. Taylor Library.  Search Publication Finder (for electronic access to journals) Digital Resources Alphabetical List (for topic searches). Both are available from the Library's homepage.


Early Childhood Research Quarterly

Child Care Information Exchange

Child Development

Child Development Perspectives

Early Childhood Education Journal

European Early Childhood Education Research Journal

Health and Social Work

International Journal of Early Childhood Special Education

Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education 

Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal

Housing and Society

Infants and Young Children

Journal of Consumer Research

Parent’s Magazine

YC Young Children

Zero to Three

What is a Digital Reference Source?

A digital reference source is an electronic version of a reference item -- encyclopedia, dictionary, almanac, atlas, etc. - that is interactive and searchable online. Some of these reference items are also available in print in the Library - check the catalog!

Early Childhood Research Quarterly

NAEYC sponsors the scholarly journal Early Childhood Research Quarterly. Published four times a year, ECRQ contains outstanding research on early childhood. Occasional special issues address hot topics in the field.

Zero to Three

ZERO TO THREE is a national, nonprofit organization that informs, trains, and supports professionals, policymakers, and parents in their efforts to improve the lives of infants and toddlers.

The JOURNAL INDEX is available online at www.zerotothree.org.

NEED MORE HELP? Ask your Liaison Librarian

Peggy Ridlen
ph. 314-889-4616
103A Library (at the back of the Information Commons)
pridlen@fontbonne.edu


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.