Library: Communication Disorders: Find Articles

Searching Keywords and Phrases

Using keywords and phrases helps you to accurately and efficiently search for information whether you are searching in a library database or in Google/Google Scholar. You'll want to use 2-3 keywords that are related to your topic in order to find the best information. Below are some examples, but you can always ask a librarian to help you come up with keywords in order to scope your search appropriately.

aphasia and interventions
inner ear and development
aphasia and (pharmacotherapy or drug treatment)
(traumatic brain injury or brain injuries or TBI) and cognitive disorders
brain injury and behavioral therapy and communication skills
Deglutition Disorders and swallowing therapy
communication and swallowing and neurological disorders

Best Bets

Subscription resources are available to Fontbonne students, faculty, & staff. Guests are welcome to visit us the Jack C. Taylor Library. For a complete list of databases, see the Digital Resources Alphabetical List.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
An authoritative file of nursing and allied health journals with full text for many of the most-used titles in the CINAHL index. The embargo-free coverage dates back to 1981.
ERIC: Education Resource Information Center
Abstracts and full-text access to educational literature and resources, including content from the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations from scholarly journals, book chapters, and dissertations collated by the American Psychological Association.

PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.nd publisher web sites.

Online Journals

The following journals / magazines are available full text. Click the title to view most recent issues.

American Journal of Audiology
Date: 2000 - present
Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in audiology, including screening, assessment, & treatment techniques; prevention; professional issues; supervision; & adminstration.
American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology
Date: 2001 - present
Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in speech-language pathology, including screening, assessment and treatment techniques; prevention, professional issues, supervision and administration.
American Journal of Audiology
Date: 2000 - present
Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in audiology, including screening, assessment, & treatment techniques; prevention; professional issues; supervision; & adminstration.
International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders
Date: 1998 - present
Covers any area that concerns speech & language pathologists & therapists.
Journal of Speech, Language & Hearing Research
Date: 1992 - present
Includes articles pertaining to the processes & disorders of hearing, language, & speech, & to the diagnosis & treatment of those disorders.
Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools
Date: 1993 - present
All aspects of clinical speech, language, & hearing services to children & adolescents, particularly in school settings.

Communication Disorders: Find Articles

Database Tips and Tricks

Searching Keywords and Phrases

Best Bets

Online Journals