Skip to main content
fontbonne logo

Education: Find Articles

This guide provides information and resources for students in education-related fields, including elementary, secondary, and special education.

Print Journals @ the Library

In the Jack C. Taylor Library, print copies of journals are treated two ways:

  • Our most recent issues (usually the current year) are kept in alphabetical order in the reading area on the first floor of the library (across from the Circulation Desk). Scholarly journals are on the low shelves and popular managinzes are on the side wall.
  • Older issues are bound in hard cover and filed on the shelves in alphabetical order (labeled by year) on the east side of the second floor of the library.

The Library receives many physical magazines and journals, some of which are NOT available through the online databases. Do a "Journal Title" search in the Library's Catalog or check in the white binder (Fontbonne Current Periodicals) on top of the shelves in the reading room to see if a journal is available in print.

Database Search Tip

Take Note!

exclamation point


All databases are not created equal, and sometimes your search strategies can make a big difference. Use the 'Help' files at the top of the screen or ask a Librarian to maximize your results

Best Bets: Early Childhood

Subscription resources are available to Fontbonne students, faculty, & staff. Guests are welcome to visit us the Jack C. Taylor Library. For a complete list of databases, see the Digital Resources Alphabetical List.

Selected Journals in Education

The following journals are available in print at the library. Additional titles are available online in full-text databases such as Academic Search, Education Research Complete, Mental Measurements Yearbook, Teacher Reference Center, and Child Development & Adolescent Studies.

See Publication Finder (for electronic access to journals) and the Digital Resources Alphabetical List (for topic searches).

 

In the News

File:Education Week Logo.jpg

"American education’s newspaper of record."

Current print coies available in the library. Check Journals A-Z for online access.

Loading

What is a Digital Reference Source?

A digital reference source is an electronic version of a reference item -- encyclopedia, dictionary, almanac, atlas, etc. - that is interactive and searchable online. Some of these reference items are also available in print in the Library - check the catalog!

NEED MORE HELP? Ask your Liaison Librarian

Peggy Ridlen
ph. 314-889-4616
103A Library (at the back of the Information Commons)
pridlen@fontbonne.edu


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.