Skip to main content
fontbonne logo

Art and Fine Arts: Find Images

Using ARTstor

Copyright & Fair Use

Fair use is a concept embedded in U.S. law that recognizes that certain uses of copyright-protected works do not require permission from the copyright holder. (See Title 17, section 107)

 

The following four factors are used to determine if a use is fair:

  1. The purpose of the use (eg. commercial vs. educational)*
  2. The nature of the copyrighted work
  3. The amount of the material used (the greater the amount copied, the less likely it is fair use)
  4. The effect of use on the potential market for or value of the work

Find out more about fair use by clicking here. 

ARTstor


       

Kuks Forest Sculptures, Exterior  1662-1738
Kuks, Czech Republic
Image courtesy of ARTstor

 The ARTstor Digital Library is one of the premiere image databases for research in art and art historical topics. It includes more than 80 collections of over one million images. The collections are gathered from a wide variety of museums, research collections, artists and artists’ estates, library special collections, and photo archives. Content includes images from the fields of art, architecture, material culture, maritime history, anthropology, and archeology.  The collection is available for non-commercial and educational use only Jack C. Taylor Library.

ARTstor is not only a rich digital library of art images and descriptive information, but also provides software tools to enable active use of the collections. ARTstor's search interface allows users to view and analyze images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

ARTstor News

Loading

Image Resources on the Web

   
Pockets, pair, embroidered
Victoria and Albert Museum
         Early 1700s

From: Visual Arts Data Service


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.