Skip to main content
fontbonne logo

Primary Sources: Library Resources

Need to do primary source work for a paper or project? Here's a collection of library and other resources to get you started.

Welcome!

Use the Library's Discovery Search to find books, articles, images, and statistics – All at one time!  You can use the 'Advanced Search' tool to limit your results. 


Keyword Title Author

Basic Search | Advanced Search

Featured Resource: Black Thought & Culture

Reference Shelf

Best Bets: Primary Sources

Subscription resources are available to Fontbonne students, faculty, & staff. Guests are welcome to visit us the Jack C. Taylor Library. For a complete list of databases, see the Digital Resources Alphabetical List. ylor Library.

Streaming @ the Library

The library's Films on Demand collection includes a page dedicated to archival films and newsreels. Sub-categories allow you to browse specific time periods. Click HERE to explore the subject page or use the search box to look for specific topics.

films on demand logo

Database Search Tip

Take Note!

exclamation point


All databases are not created equal, and sometimes your search strategies can make a big difference. Use the 'Help' files at the top of the screen or ask a Librarian to maximize your results

@ the Library

To find primary sources in the library catalog you can do an Advanced Keyword Search and enter keywords such as sources, journals, correspondence, collected works, personal narratives, diaries, papers, letters, documents, interviews, speeches, or pamphlets. Combine any of these terms with your subject terms.

In the Stacks: Library of Congress Subject Headings

The library catalog uses specific subject headings to classify materials in the collection.

Discovering the right subject headings can help you find relevant sources and related items in the collection.

@ the Library

The most recent print copies of the journals below are available in the reading area on the main floor (back issues can be found in the bound periodicals on the second floor). Additional titles are available through the databases listed to the left.


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.