Skip to main content
fontbonne logo

Healthcare Management: Find Articles

A guide to resources at Fontbonne University's Jack C. Taylor Library for Healthcare Management and related fields.

Welcome!

Use the Library's Discovery Search to find books, articles, images, and statistics – All at one time!  You can use the 'Advanced Search' tool to limit your results. 


Keyword Title Author

Basic Search | Advanced Search

Print Journals @ the Library

In the Jack C. Taylor Library, print copies of journals are treated two ways:

  • Our most recent issues (usually the current year) are kept in alphabetical order in the reading area on the first floor of the library (across from the Circulation Desk). Scholarly journals are on the low shelves and popular managinzes are on the side wall.
  • Older issues are bound in hard cover and filed on the shelves in alphabetical order (labeled by year) on the east side of the second floor of the library.

The Library receives many physical magazines and journals, some of which are NOT available through the online databases. Do a "Journal Title" search in the Library's Catalog or check in the white binder (Fontbonne Current Periodicals) on top of the shelves in the reading room to see if a journal is available in print.

Best Bets: Healthcare Management

Subscription resources are available to Fontbonne students, faculty, & staff. Guests are welcome to visit us the Jack C. Taylor Library. For a complete list of databases, see the Digital Resources Alphabetical List.

Finding Search Terms

Use keywords to search and identify some relevant articles. Think of alternative terms or phrases for your topic (this is just a short list of possibilities):

doctor OR physician

healthcare OR "health care"

"health services" OR "health services administration"

"public health administration" OR "medical administration"

"health planning"

"medical economics"

"national health services"

heath AND management

health AND facilities AND management

hospital AND management

When you've found an article that addresses your topic:

Check the Subjects used and search again using the assigned subject:
Examples: For the healthcare industry, the subject used is health care industry; for customer satisfaction in hospitals it is patient satisfaction.

Use the Advanced Search option and type the subject term (e.g., patient satisfaction) and change the field from Select a Field (Optional) to SU Subjects.

Reading Room

The most recent print copies of the journals below are available in the reading area on the main floor (back issues can be found in the bound periodicals on the second floor). Additional titles can be found through the databases listed to the left.

Database Search Tip

Take Note!

exclamation point


All databases are not created equal, and sometimes your search strategies can make a big difference. Use the 'Help' files at the top of the screen or ask a Librarian to maximize your results

What is a Digital Reference Source?

A digital reference source is an electronic version of a reference item -- encyclopedia, dictionary, almanac, atlas, etc. - that is interactive and searchable online. Some of these reference items are also available in print in the Library - check the catalog!


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.