fontbonne logo

Fontbonne College Yearbooks (1927-1962)

Explore 35 years of campus history with these .pdf files from University Archives. Browse by year or use 'Ctrl + F' to search a specific volume.

Fontbonne College Yearbooks Online

In 2015, the Fontbonne University Archives received a grant from the Fontbonne Community Connection (FCC) to digitize our collection of Fontbonne College yearbooks.

FCC is a women's giving circle that funds projects proposed by Fontbonne staff, faculty, students, and student organizations. The grant proposals are a compilation of goals and dreams that are a priority but beyond the scope of a current year's budget. We would like to thank FCC for their generous gift and their continued support of the University Archives and our mission.

 

yearbook ads

 

Searching the Collection

You can browse the collection through the list at the left (choose a decade, a year, and then select a specific issue) or search within each volume by using CONTROL + F (or Apple COMMAND + F) on your keyboard and typing a word or words into the search box that appears at the bottom left of the screen.

The yearbooks have been digitized using Optical Character Recognition (OCR). The OCR technology allows the pdf files to be searched, but the accuracy of the matches can be unreliable depending on a number of factors, including the nature of the font, the age of the original document, and the quality of the printing (results get better in later decades). For the best results, we offer the following recommendations:

  • Use as few words as possible (try simply ‘Greene’ or ‘Ermen’ for ‘Sister Mary Ermen Greene’).
  • If you’re certain of a name and a year but still aren’t getting any results, try part of a word (‘libr’ instead of ‘librarian’).
  • Double-check your typing or try an alternative spelling.
  • Start all searches at the beginning of each document.

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view these .pdf files. Enjoy!

About the Collection

cartoon from The Font, 1930

The University Archives' collection of Fontbonne College Yearbooks includes 35 volumes from the years between 1927 and 1962 (none was published in 1928). Each book is dated with the spring semester of the given academic year. In addition to the usual portraits and pages devoted to activities and organizations, the collection provides an invaluable record of intellectual life on campus and the culture of the community during those decades.

 

drawing from The Font, 1932

We invite you to explore the collection and discover (or be reminded of) the inspiration and creativity that have defined Fontbonne's history for nearly a century. Read the Dedications to get a sense of the priorities and values of the student body. Browse the original drawings and poetry and the creative vignettes that showcase the changing attitudes, humor, and ideals of these amazing women. Track fashion trends over five decades with individual and group photographs in each volume. Examine the presentation and design choices that provide a fascinating tour of their own here, or page through the advertisements at the end of each book, which offers a useful overview of the commercial history of our community.

drawing from The Font, 1932

As a whole, the Fontbonne College Yearbooks attest to a history of values and vision that we can all be proud of. We hope you enjoy your time with the collection and will share it and let us know what you think!

NEED MORE HELP?

Catherine Lucy
   University Archivist
   314-719-8026
   clucy@fontbonne.edu

As Strong as the Granite

Vitality and Vision:

75 Years of Fontbonne History

campus photo

The complete text of Sister Jane Hassett's essential history is now available online (with a new comprehensive index).

View the Catalog Record.
Call Number: LD1809.F657 H37

Printable Policies & Procedures

 

The FONT Student Newspaper

Font Cover

Browse or search issues of The Font student newspaper HERE.

Contact Us!

phone icon 314-889-1417

 fax icon  314-719-8040

Got ?s EMAIL US!
LibraryHelp@fontbonne.edu


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.