fontbonne logo

Fontbonne University Archives

University Archives: Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions: General

What is an Archive?

Archives are responsible for permanently preserving the historical records of an institution such as a university. Archival materials are usually unique or rare items that must be protected because they cannot be replaced. Collections are generally kept in a secure storage area and must be requested through the archivist. Sometimes items are not listed in library catalogs and cannot be found online. Materials generally cannot be borrowed and some restrictions on use may apply. Some items may be too fragile to use.

Where are the Fontbonne's University Archives located?

The physical collections are located in the lower level of the Jack C. Taylor Library and are available by appointment only. The office of the University Archivist located on the main level in the Technical Services Area of the library.

Who can use the contents of the Archives?

Most of the materials are available to the students, faculty, and staff of Fontbonne University; some may be used by others who can demonstrate good cause (determined case-by-case by the Archivist).

When are the Archives open?

The Archives are open by appointment only, usually during regular library hours. Contact the Archives to schedule an appointment.

How can I make an appointment?

Get in touch with our University Archivist by email (archives@fontbonne.edu) or by phone (314-719-8026).

How can I get more information?

We are continually working to add content to this research guide and our Facebook page (which include recommendations for reading about the Sisters of St. Joseph, Fontbonne history, and other areas of interest), so keep an eye on those for new topics and information. You can also contact the University Archivist or come by the library to learn more.

Can I check materials out from the Archives?

Materials in the Archives are not available for check-out. No items may be removed from the library without the permission of the University Archivist.

Can I get scans or copies made?

Photocopying or scanning may be permitted by the archivist on a case-by-case basis at a cost of .10 cents per page (payable to the Fontbonne University Library by cash or check). See the official General Use Policy for more information.

@ the Library

library owl Today's Hours

 

Printable Policies & Procedures

 

Contact Us!

phone icon 314-889-1417

 fax icon  314-719-8040

Got ?s EMAIL US!
LibraryHelp@fontbonne.edu


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.