Library: Fontbonne University Archives: Genealogy

MO Death Certificates Online

MO Death Certificates Online
An introductory tutorial from Fontbonne's former Archivist, Catherine Lucy (created as part of the graduate level Genealogy course INFO 284-10, Master of Library and Information Science program at the San Jose State University iSchool).

Emerging Technologies

how genealogists use emerging technology comic

Emerging Technologies 2

View the full pdf.

Amazing Tales from Genealogy
By Mary Girard. ©2016

Read the original article!

In the News

GENEALOGY BLOG

St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Looking for content from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch? Some content is available online through Newspaper Source. Archives of older issues (digitally or on microfilm) are also available and can requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Other historical publications are also available through the library databases:Digital Resources.

Getting Started

Watch Genealogy on PBS. See more from the History Detectives.

Searching Historical Records

This is the first video in a series created for staff members at the Springville Utah Family History Center. Links to additional videos are listed below.

Searching for an Ancestor | Utah Family History Center
Episode 2 in the Historical Records Series
Sources | Utah Family History Center
Episode 3 in the Historical Records Series

Digital Resources

These fully-searchable online resources include access to newspaper archives and other collections that may be useful for genealogical research. Access is available to all students, faculty, and staff. Other members of the community are welcome to explore them using the computers in the Information Commons at the Jack C. Taylor Library.

Black Thought & Culture
Non-fiction writings by major American black leaders, covering 250 years of history. Includes previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
This online dictionary provides definitions and the evolution of the English language, tracing the usage of words over the past 1000 years.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Includes newspaper articles, radio & television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, with full-text content coverage of Canada and the U.S. spanning more than 22 years.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States based on information from government sources. [Print versions (2003-2012) are available in the Library's Information Commons (Call #: HA202 .U5).]

Additional Resources

American Family Immigration History Center
Explore your own family history through the foundation's collection of immigrant arrival records and the passenger and community archives.
Ancestry.com
This might be a great place to start. Ancestry.com offers the world's largest online family history resource
Family History & Genealogy | USA.gov
This government portal links to sources for Census, immigration, and military records, and a number of record-finding aids for genealogists and family historians.
Midwest Genealogy Center
The MGC’s collections offer resources for genealogy research that span the United States and countries around the world.
Missouri Historical Society
Founded in 1866, the MHR serves as the confluence of historical perspectives and contemporary issues to inspire and engage audiences in the St. Louis region and beyond.
Preservation Toolkit | Library of Congress
Interested in preserving your own family history? The Library of Congress has put together a toolkit full of resources to help you through the process.
Society of Genealogists | National Family History Centre
Top ten tips for starting your family history plus additional resources and collections.
St. Louis Genealogical Society
Founded in 1968, StLGS promotes family history research by providing educational and research opportunities, offering community services in related fields, and collecting, preserving, and publishing genealogical and historical records.
State Historical Society of Missouri
SHSMO collects, preserves, and publishes materials that enhance research and support learning opportunities in the study of the Midwest.
US GenWeb Project
A free state and county-specific portal for genealogical research in the United States.