fontbonne logo

Faculty Resources & Services

Finding Persistent Links for Articles

Electronic Reserves

Copyright law requires that permissions be obtained from the copyright holder for dissemination of articles. Fair use exemptions must meet the appropriate conditions (see Fontbonne's Copyright Guide for details).

Persistent Links

To avoid copyright issues, you may be able to provide your students with a direct, unchanging (persistent) link to the article you want to use in your class. If we have access to the article thorough one of our Library databases, you can put a Persistent Link to the article in Blackboard that will take students directly to that article. This method does not require copyright permissions to be secured. Here's how to set it up:

Finding the Article

You must have the citation for the article you need in hand. Here is the article we will look for in this example:

Long, L., MacBlain, S., & MacBlain, M. (2007). Supporting students with dyslexia at the secondary level: An emotional model of literacy. Journal Of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, 51(2), 124-134.

  • On Fontbonne Library's webpage, Click on Publication Finder.
  • Log in using your Fontbonne username & password, if off-campus. 
  • In Publication Finder, type the title of the JOURNAL in the FIND box. Your results will look similar to this:

Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy

Full Text Access


  • If the journal is indexed in a database to which Fontbonne Library subscribes, a link (in blue) will be provided to the database and the dates for which full-text is available will be shown. (NOTE: Watch out for "Full Text Delay" meaning that full-text for issues in that time period are not currently available.)
  • Click on the database link that provides the appropriate date coverage you need and use your citation to find the article. Follow the directions below:

For EBSCO databases:

  • In an EBSCO database, select the year needed, then the issue/month.
  • When the results list appears, scroll down to find the article.
  • Once you have found the article you need, click on the title of the article.
  • Once the article appears, click on the Permalink icon on the right side of the screen.  
  • Copy that link and paste it into Blackboard. Include the citation in Blackboard as well -- it will be helpful for students if that database is unavailable for some reason when they go to retrieve the article.

You can put the link under Course Documents or wherever makes the most sense for your course.

For JSTOR

If Publication Finder provides a link to JSTOR for your article, you will be linked to the browse screen for that journal title.

  • Scroll down and select year, issue, article title, etc. as you did above.
  • Once you have found the correct article, cut and paste the URL from the top of the screen. This will take students through the proxy server to authenticate them and give them access to the article whether they are on or off campus.

If you have questions or need assistance, contact Justin Megahan: jmegahan@fontbonne.edu or 314-889-4566.

Reserve Request Form

Please allow up to two business days for processing of all Reserve requests. Thank you!

Course Reserve Policies

Books and audio-visual material can be placed on Reserve for either in-library, overnight, or 7-day periods. Reserve materials will be removed at the end of each semester. Download and attach the Course Reserve Form to your items and send to Jayme Abbott (719-3666) in the Library or contact the Circulation Desk for information: 314-889-1417.*

Articles should be formatted electronically and uploaded into the course's Blackboard session (following appropriate copyright guidelines). Print copies will not be maintained at the Circulation Desk.

* Please allow up to two business days for processing of all Reserve requests. Thank you!

Electronic Reserves

Copyright law requires that permissions be obtained from the copyright holder for dissemination of articles. Fair use exemptions must meet the appropriate conditions (see Fontbonne's Copyright Guide for details).

Contact Us!

phone icon 314-889-1417

 fax icon  314-719-8040

Got ?s EMAIL US!
LibraryHelp@fontbonne.edu


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
ph: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
Contact Site Administrator.