Fashion Merchandising: Additional Resources

The American Textile History Museum's costume collection is the most recent collection to be established (1996). It includes a significant group of garments worn by Americans from the eighteenth through the twentieth centuries. The collection includes men's highly ornamented waistcoats and women's pockets from the eighteenth century; nineteenth-century girls' printed cotton everyday dresses and men's work-shirts, as well as 1970s double-knit bell bottom trousers and a 1960s paper jumpsuit. About one-third of the collection is comprised of accessories. The Museum's main collecting focus is everyday clothing and the stories of the people who owned them.

The Chicago History Museum's world-renowned costume and textile collection is noted both for its size and the quality of its holdings.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City-Costume Institute & Curatorial Departments houses a collection of more than thirty-five thousand costumes and accessories spanning five continents and as many centuries.

The most fashionable museum in New York City.

The Kent State Museum contains important collections of fashion and decorative arts. Its eight galleries feature changing exhibitions of work by many of the world's great artists and designers. The Museum provides students with first-hand experience with historic and contemporary fashions. Students and the general public are welcome to view, study and research from its collection of historic, contemporary, and world fashions.

Located in the UK London, the V & A Museum is he world’s greatest museum of art and design.