Library: Biological & Physical Sciences: Additional Resources

Open Access Journals and Publishers

BioMed Central
An open access publisher of biomedical literature.
Free Medical Journals - Biology
Site with access listing for free medical journals including those in the subject of biology.
Biology Direct
Serves the life science research community as an open access, peer-reviewed online journal.
Biology
An international, peer-reviewed open access journal of biological sciences published quarterly online by MDPI.
Open Biology
A fast, open access journal publishing high impact biology at the molecular and cellular level.
PLOS Biology
An open-access, peer-reviewed general biology journal published by PLOS, a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource
PubMed Central
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

On the Air: Science Magazine

Websites

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The BHL is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the their collections of public domain books and journals.
Encyclopedia of Life
Global access to knowledge about life on Earth.
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
Global Climate Change (NASA)
A site produced by the Earth Science Communications Team at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory/California Institute of Technology focusing on the science of Climate Change.
Consumer Product Information Database
Information on the potential health effects of ingredients contained in common household products used inside and around the home.
Khan Academy
Educational videos about a variety of scientific topics.
Minute Physics on YouTube
Lots of great, simple videos to explain principles of physics.
NASA Jet Propulsion Lab
JPL has 24 spacecraft and 10 instruments conducting active missions. All of these are important parts of NASA's program of exploration of Earth, the solar system and the universe beyond.
Science Dictionary
Search engine of only scientific websites.
Science.gov
Gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 55 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2100 scientific websites.
Scitation
The online home of leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP (American Institute of Physics) Publishing and AIP Member Societies
The Vega Science Trust
The Vega Science Trust has created a broadcast platform for the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) communities. Site includes video interviews with scientists, Noble Prize winners, lectures, articles and recent science news.
Tropicos
The world's largest database of plant information, containing fully web-searchable records for over 900,000 plant names and nearly 2 million specimens. Over 50,000 plant images are also linked to their records in TROPICOS. Run by the Missouri Botanical Garden.
USDA Plants Database
This database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders
WISER is a system designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents.
WorldWideScience
A federated search of national and international scientific databases and portals.

Smarter Searching

Search for scholarly information with links to Fontbonne Library resources. If you can't access full-text, visit the Library website and request the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and we'll e-mail it to you when it arrives.

Use Google's Advanced Image Search to find relevant photos and other images.

In the News

Science Daily
Your source for the latest research news.

On the Air

Science Friday