Library: Primary Sources: Geography

Reference Shelf

Reference titles can be found in the Information Commons and are for Library use only.

Atlas of the World by Oxford (Editor)
Call Number: G1021 .G4125 2007
ISBN: 0195334000
A Dictionary of Geography by Susan Mayhew
Call Number: G63 .M39 2009
ISBN: 0199231818
National Geographic Almanac of Geography
Call Number: G123 .N37 2005
ISBN: 079223877X

Featured Resource: Statistical Abstract

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, this is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. [Print versions are available in the Library Reference Room (Call # HA202 .U5). Earlier editions are available on the Census website.]

Geography and Mapping Resources Online

40 Maps that Explain the World | Washington Post
Part of the World Views series. Also look for the link to '40 More Maps' at the top of the page.
World Fact Book | CIA
Extensive map collection and a wealth of information are made available through the government printing office.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Growing collection focuses on 18th- and 19th-century materials from the Americas, but other periods and continents are represented as well.
GeoScienceWorld
The non-profit collaborative GSW provides access to maps, images, datasets, ebooks, and peer-reviewed journals.
HERE. Maps for Life.
Modern mapping option from Nokia. Formerly NAVTEQ. Mobile app available.
Hot-Maps
International interactive country and city maps. Also includes links to transportation schedules.
MapMaker Interactive | National Geographic
Intuitive international mapping tool. Make maps, mark them up, and download or share them. Also includes the MapMachine Online Atlas.
Maps & Data | US Census
The Census Geography page includes links to the Census Data Mapper and a number of interactive tools, including Reference, Thematic, Topological, and boundary maps.
National Map Viewer | USGS
Interactive mapping with a variety of overlays.
Open Access Maps at NYPL
High resolution maps available from the New York Public Library.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection | UT at Austin
A growing collection of digitized maps includes featured maps, browsing by region, and tons of links to additional resources.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Missouri | University of Missouri Libraries
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Company, established in 1867, compiled and published maps of U.S. cities and towns for the fire insurance industry to assess fire risk. The MU collection includes maps for Missouri towns and cities with supplements dating from 1941-1992.
Urban Rail
Subway maps (and other transit systems) from around the world.

Streaming @ the Library

The library's Films on Demand collection includes a Geography page. Sub-categories include Human, Physical, and World Regional Geography. Click HERE to explore the list.