Library Resources - Ferguson, MO | Background & Contexts

Welcome!

Search all EBSCO Databases

You can also choose a database from the Digital Resources A-Z List.

Catalog (Books & Video)

My Account (Renew Books)

MOBIUS (Request Books)

Flipster (Digital Magazines)

OverDrive (Audio & eBooks)

What is a Digital Reference Source?

A digital reference source is an electronic version of a reference item -- encyclopedia, dictionary, almanac, atlas, etc. - that is interactive and searchable online. Some of these reference items are also available in print in the Library - check the catalog!

Best Bets

Subscription resources are available to Fontbonne students, faculty, & staff. Guests are welcome to visit us the Jack C. Taylor Library. For a complete list of databases, see the Digital Resources Alphabetical List.

Black Thought & Culture
Non-fiction writings by major American black leaders, covering 250 years of history. Includes previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, e-books and background information with international coverage across the Humanities.
JSTOR - Arts & Sciences I-IV This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals cover a range of topics, including science, business, law, mathematics, language, psychology, and ethnic and multicultural studies.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States based on information from government sources. [Print versions (2003-2012) are available in the Library's Information Commons (Call #: HA202 .U5).]
Women & Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources and supporting materials regarding the published histories and records of women's reform organizations in the US between the 17th and 20th centuries.

Finding Search Terms

Use any combination of the following terms to search the Fontbonne Library Classic Catalog (for books, DVDs, e-books, etc.); you can also use them to get started with our Discovery Search or in any of the library's subject-specific Digital Resources.

CREDO Reference: Civil Rights Topic Page

CREDOReference is a general reference collection available through the library's Digital Resources.

The Civil Rights Topic Page gives an overview and includes a selection of key reference titles (e.g. Encyclopedia of American Studies and Africa & the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History).

A Mind Map of the subject offers a visual map of some of the areas covered by the different sources.

Database Search Tip

Database Tips and Tricks

If you are searching for a topic within a specific subject discipline, be sure you are using the appropriate database. Databases are not created equal, and sometimes your search strategies can make a big difference. Use the 'Help' files at the top of the screen or ask a Librarian to maximize your results.

Reading Room

The most recent print copies of the journals below are available in the reading area on the main floor (back issues can be found in the bound periodicals on the second floor). Additional titles can be found through the databases listed to the left.

Print Journals @ the Library

Issues of print journals are on the east side of the second floor of the library. Older issues are bound in hard cover and filed on the shelves in alphabetical order (labeled by year). Newer issues that are not yet bound can be found in the same place.

The Library currently receives fewer and fewer physical magazines and journals, some of which are NOT available through the online databases. Search by "Journal Title" in the Library's Catalog or check the shelves on the second floor to see if the item you need is in print.

@ the Library: DVD's

The Pruitt-Igoe Myth
Call Number: HD7288.78.U52 S25
Spanish Lake
Call Number: HT384.U62 M8