Library: Mission Core I: Culture & the Common Good: Find Articles

Database Search Tip

Database Tips and Tricks

If you are searching for a topic within a specific subject discipline, be sure you are using the appropriate database. Databases are not created equal, and sometimes your search strategies can make a big difference. Use the 'Help' files at the top of the screen or ask a Librarian to maximize your results.

Readings

Four Privacy Myths, Neil M. Richards
Washington University School of Law | April 22, 2014
Any discussion about privacy today inevitably confronts a series of common argument about the futility of privacy in our digital age.
Eboo Patel Has a Dream
The Chronicle of Higher Education | April 29, 2013
In his first book, Acts of Faith, Eboo Patel describes his early encounters with interfaith events in the late 1990s. He was not impressed.
How Should We Think About Privacy?, Jaron Lanier
Scientific American | November 2013
Focusing on facts is generally an effective first step to gaining clarity about a complex or elusive topic. In the case of privacy, the facts are denied to us.
Cultivating Flourishing Lives: A Robust Social Justice Vision of Education, Carl A. Grant
American Educational Research Journal | October 2012
To realize education that cultivates students' flourishing minds and lives, Grant proposes five core principles for this robust social justice vision: self-assessment, critical questioning, practicing democracy, social action, and criteria for adjudication.
This School's Gone Down Hill, Kimberly Goyette
Social Problems (Volume 59, Issue 2) | May 2012
Print copy available in library, 2nd floor. pp. 155-76
Rooted in Mission, Janine Duncan
Catholic Education: A Journal of Inquiry & Practice | June 2011
Examines the unity between the missions of the Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) discipline and Catholic higher education by demonstrating relationships among Catholic Social Teaching and the role of the service principle to FCS; Catholic Intellectual Tradition and the centrality of intellect to FCS; and the institutional charism and the shared calling of FCS professionals, exemplified by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, sponsors of Fontbonne University.
An Author's Companion in Rage, Exile, and Return, Eboo Patel
All Things Considered | September 4, 2007
I started reading James Baldwin's essays because he gave voice to my rage. The rage of growing up other in America. Of trying to scratch the darkness out of my skin. Of wanting my father's name to be Sam, not Sadruddin...
Changing the World on a Shoestring, David Bornstein
The Atlantic | January 1998
Reports on Ashoka: Innovators for the Public, an organization to support social entrepreneurs, founded by Bill Drayton. The organization works as a venture capital firm, but rather than funding corporations, Ashoka gives money to social entrepreneurs working to alleviate poverty, protect the environment, and promote human rights.
The Barefoot Bank with Cheek, David Bornstein
The Atlantic | December 1995
Presents a profile of the Grameen Bank in Bangladesh, which makes small loans to the extremely poor and has become a model for economic developers all over the world. Bornstein discusses the availability of small loans towards the poor, reports that the Grameen Bank has a repayment rate of 97%, which is comparable to that of Chase Manhattan Bank, and details the concept of micro-enterprising.

What is a Digital Reference Source?

A digital reference source is an electronic version of a reference item -- encyclopedia, dictionary, almanac, atlas, etc. - that is interactive and searchable online. Some of these reference items are also available in print in the Library - check the catalog!

Print Journals @ the Library

Issues of print journals are on the east side of the second floor of the library. Older issues are bound in hard cover and filed on the shelves in alphabetical order (labeled by year). Newer issues that are not yet bound can be found in the same place.

The Library currently receives fewer and fewer physical magazines and journals, some of which are NOT available through the online databases. Search by "Journal Title" in the Library's Catalog or check the shelves on the second floor to see if the item you need is in print.