Library: Family & Consumer Sciences 532: Critical Issues: HOME

Getting Started

Use Credo or other encyclopedias to find:

a historical background of your topic
jargon or discipline-specific language
related topics
key people

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search
Articles, ebooks, and citations for just about any subject. A good starting place.
JSTOR - Arts & Sciences I-IV This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals cover a range of topics, including science, business, law, mathematics, language, psychology, and ethnic and multicultural studies.

FCS Critical Issues - Subject-Specific Databases

HEARTH - Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (Cornell University)
Core collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, 1850-1950. Includes the Journal of Home Economics (1909-1993).
*NOTE: Searching the full-text of original articles. For this archive, use period-relevant terms for best results.
more...less...
The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site.

Help and search tips for the Home Economics Archive are available here: hearth.library.cornell.edu/h/hearth/help.html

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes Journal of Family & Consumer Sciences Education (AAFCS publication) as well as other publications focusing on all levels of education.
Consumer Health Complete
Resources to support the information needs of patients to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Book reviews and abstracts from technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations relating to growth and development through age 21.
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, and books addressing all aspects of the food industry, including food science, food service, processing, packaging and shipping.
Business Source This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, SWOT analyses, company profiles, market research, industry, and country reports.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
A free online resource for biomedical and preclinical sciences from the National Institute of Health. Includes both citations and articles.
Women & Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources and supporting materials regarding the published histories and records of women's reform organizations in the US between the 17th and 20th centuries.

Find Articles

Articles focus more narrowly on a topic than books and are sometimes the most current research you can find. Articles are indexed in databases. See a list of relevant databases below or find by subject or title on the A-Z Digital Resources page.

To Find Articles:

Pick a database. Because many are subject-specific, think about what type of expert would be writing about your topic and select a database in that subject. You can also start with a multidisciplinary database such as JSTOR or Academic Search.
Enter search your terms , e.g., "food desert*" AND health

FCS Critical Issues - eBook Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
ISBN: 9780765680457
Date: 2004-08-31
This set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Encyclopedia of Nutrition Research by George T. Hardy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781613240014
Date: 2012-03-01
Presents and discusses current research in the study of nutrition. Topics discussed include appetite control; central inhibitory mechanism controlling water and sodium intake; the validity of nutritional assessment; child dietary intake; nutrition and diabetes mellitus type 1; vegetable and food consumption; elder fruit juices and plant vitamin antioxidants and their influence on the human diet.