Jack C. Taylor Library

Library FAQs

How do I...?

 

Find a book?

Start with the Classic Catalog to see if a book is available in our collection. If so, you'll use the Call Number (in the middle of the screen to the right of the item location) to locate the book on the shelf. Patrons are expected to retrieve their own books from the shelves, but if you need assistance stop by the front desk of give us a call.

For more information about the Library of Congress classification system, click HERE.

If a book is NOT available in the Fontbonne collection, you may request it through MOBIUS (a regional consortium); the link can be found at the top of the catalog screen.

If you still can’t find it, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Find an article?

Many full-text articles are available through the Digital Resources A-Z List. Look for the 'Search EBSCO' box on the main page or choose a subject-specific database to search the collections. If you have a citation, you can use Publication Finder to see if a particular publication is available. You will be asked to log in with your Fontbonne user name and password. If you run into problems, check out these troubleshooting tips.

If an article is not available, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Check out audio and ebooks with OverDrive?

Download the Libby or OverDrive app on your device and add the MOBIUS consortium to your list of libraries. You will use your id number + f (123456f) to sign in. Kindle users will need to login to Amazon after borrowing each item.

 

Request a book or an article?

If a book is NOT available in the Fontbonnne collection, you may request it through MOBIUS (a regional consortium). Look for the link at the top of the catalog screen.

Books and articles that are not otherwise available can be requested through our Interlibrary Loan services.

 

Renew items I have checked out?

Library items checked out on your account can be renewed through the Classic Catalog.

 

Get help with a project?

Start with the Subject & Reference Pages or email us with specific questions: libraryhelp@fontbonne.edu.

Reference Librarians are also available during regular library hours (days, evenings, & weekends). If you need in-depth research assistance, you can schedule an appointment with the appropriate subject librarian.

 

Print in color?

Color printing is available in the Information Commons at the cost of $0.24/page. Students will need to activate their PaperCut account using PayPal to add credit (in increments of $5). Detailed instructions are available on a handout in the rack near the entrance of the Info Commons, or you can ask at the Desk for help.

 

Access Canvas?

You can access Canvas through the Current Students page or GRIFFINNET on the main university site. You can also use this direct link: https://fontbonneuniversity.instructure.com.

 

Find the library?

The Library is located on the north side of the main Fontbonne Campus; the main entrance faces Ryan Hall and the horseshoe drive.

Click HERE to find a full map of the campus.

Troubleshooting Login Problems

When accessing the Digital Resources (aka library databases) from off campus, you will see this message on the login screen after clicking on a link to a digital resource.

Please type your Fontbonne username (without the @fontbonne.edu) and password that you use for Fontbonne email, Canvas, wi-fi network, GriffinNet, etc.

 

Scenario 1: No login screen

If you do not see the login screen or the digital resource does not load correctly after you enter your username and password, please try the following (and document your steps in case a technician needs to assist with troubleshooting your issue later):

1) try a different web browser (Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer, etc.)

2) try private (or incognito) mode in your web browser

3) try a different internet connection

NOTE: An internet connection with a security firewall, like a school or place of work, may prevent you from accessing the login screen and the digital resources.

 

Scenario 2: Username/Password not valid

If you enter your Fontbonne username (without the @fontbonne.edu) and password on the login screen and then receive the following message:

“This is loginbu.htm from the docs subdirectory. This file is sent if the username/password provided is not valid.”

Please try the following:

  1. Carefully retype your Fontbonne username (without the @fontbonne.edu) and password.
  2. Reset you Fontbonne password at https://askus.fontbonne.edu/

 

Scenario 3: Additional Issues

If the steps suggested in the above scenarios do not solve your issue OR your issue is not covered here, please report your issue to librayhelp@fontbonne.edu. Please include clear details of your issue, including the URL of the page where you clicked the digital resource link and other steps or clicks that you performed to arrive where you're running into problems. If possible, please include screenshots of error messages OR screen record the actions that lead to the issue.

chat loading...

 

Troubleshooting Login Problems

LIBRARY HOURS

library owlToday's Hours

 

Mon–Th: 7:30 a.m.-8 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
Saturday: CLOSED
Sunday: 3-8 p.m.

Coffee House Hours
Mon-Th: 7:30 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m.-Noon
Sat-Sun: CLOSED 

 


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
t: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
CHAT 24/7 | libraryhelp@fontbonne.edu

All guides licesnsed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.