Jack C. Taylor Library

Library Collections

Library Collections

Articles – View the Digital Resouces page to select a database to search for articles. 

Scholarly Journals – Search Publication Finder to see what's available in what format. 

Books – Start with a Catalog search to find books in the library. 

Audio & eBooks – Search the Catalog and EBSCO's ebook collection. Popular reading materials are available through OverDrive (log in with your student # + f). 

Course Reserves – Print copies are on reserve at the front desk. You can search the Catalog by course or instructor. 

Curriculum Library – Course materials and supplies are available on the lower level. Learn more HERE

Social Work Collection – Textbooks can be checked out for the entire semester. You can see a list of the entire collection HERE

Digital Collections – Digitized items including theses, student projects, and materials from the Archives and Special Collections are available through GriffinShare

DVD Collection – Popular and more academic titles are available for checkout. Search the Catalog for titles.  

Print Reference – These reference titles on the shelves in the Information Commons are available for in-library use. Find them in the Catalog with an advanced search. 

Why the Library?

Students often use Google to complete research assignments unless instructors direct them otherwise. Why should you tell your students to use the Library resources?

  • They can gain quick and easy access to scholarly resources without searching through 1.5 million results
  • They won't need to waste time evaluating whether the information they retrieve is credible or correct
  • They will prepare better papers and assignments and (as a result) get better grades

The Fontbonne Librarians are available to help you and your students by presenting a Library instruction session in your class. Sessions can be customized to cover Library resources that are available for a specific assignment, or we can provide a general overview of the Library - whichever you prefer. This is an efficient means to get all your students pointed towards scholarly, vetted resources. We ask for notice of at least one week when scheduling these sessions so that we can adequately prepare the content. Please feel free to contact any of us.

Additionally, we are happy to:

  • Set up Course Reserves
  • Locate resources to support your teaching and research projects
  • Explain what digital resources/databases in your subject area are available through the library
  • Demonstrate how to access library materials on and off campus
  • Show you our newest digital resources

Library Instruction & Tours

Librarians are available to provide instruction to any class, introducing students to information resources and research techniques. Librarians are willing to lead these sessions or, if the faculty member prefers, provide the information to the faculty member for their syllabus.

Tours and also be arranged and can be combined with instruction sessions if desired. Instructors need to attend with their students.

All sessions can be customized to the needs of the course in both length and focus. Instructors are required to be present with their students. At least one week's notice is requested when scheduling these sessions.

Please contact us to schedule a session: libraryhelp@fontbonne.edu.

Let Us...

  • Show you digital and print materials for your academic area.
  • Customize library instruction sessions for your class.
  • Assist in locating electronic journal articles in Library databases.
  • Provide a tailored list of journals available in your subject area.
  • Embed links to library resources in your courses.
  • Schedule library sessions for individuals or groups.
  • Assist graduate students with advanced search techniques.
  • Assist in locating MOBIUS or interlibrary loan materials.
  • Personalize service related to your needs.

Featured Resource: Chronicle of Higher Ed


Jack C. Taylor Library • 6800 Wydown Blvd. • St. Louis, MO 63105
Proudly sponsored by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
t: 314-889-1417 • f: 314-719-8040
email: libraryhelp@fontbonne.edu

All guides licesnsed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.